Resources for Pet Parents

Furryornot Petcare offers In Home Pet-sittingDog-walking, and House-sitting services in the Abbotsford area of British Columbia, Canada. Contact us to arrange a free consultation. 

Resources we use and recommend:

Pet Sitters International  www.petsit.com/pet-owner-tips

Dogsafe Canine First Aid  www.dogsafe.ca/resources

ASPCA  www.aspca.org/pet-care

Whole Dog Journal  www.whole-dog-journal.com

Modern Dog Magazine  moderndogmagazine.com

Modern Cat Magazine  moderncat.com

Pet Connection Magazine  www.petconnection.ca

Fundamentally Feline  www.fundamentallyfeline.com

Extra funny and entertaining stuff:

The Dog Snobs blog thedogsnobs.com

Newsletters we subscribe to and enjoy:
 
BarkPost barkpost.com

Fidose of Reality blog fidoseofreality.com

Some Helpful Tips for you and your pets

Human foods that are dangerous for your pets:
Grapes & raisins – can cause kidney failure
Macadamia nuts – can cause vomiting, tremors
Onion, garlic and chives – can lead to red blood cell damage (cats are even more susceptible)
Xylitol, a sugar substitute – can cause liver failure
Chocolate, coffee, and caffeine – can cause seizures and even death
Pet Poison Helpline www.petpoisonhelpline.com

Tips for Multi-cat homes

If you have multiple cats most experts recommend having one litter box per cat plus one extra. So for 3 cats you should have 4 litter boxes. If your cat is having litter box issues try setting up an additional litter box, change the location ( to the spot where they are going outside of the current litter box), or adjust the size of the box, and/or type of litter used. Some cats may prefer a sand or gravel type over the larger pellets, or an open box rather than one with a lid. If you are not sure which type they prefer set up a few different options and see which one is the most ‘popular’. Check with your vet if problems persist because bad litter habits could be due to an illness or other health problems.

Artwork by C. Kuryk

Everything you did NOT want to know about dog poop

Download (PDF, 149KB)

Other stuff we recommend checking out:

Canine Benefactors Society  www.caninebenefactors.com

PIP My Pet pet recognition app  www.petrecognition.com

Doggie Detail dog waste removal  doggiedetail.com

The Yellow Dog Project  www.theyellowdogproject.com

In Home Pet-sitting, Dog-walking, and House-sitting Services in Abbotsford B.C.